Sustainable Aquatic Research

1st International Symposium on
"Sustainable Aquatic Research"

21-24 May 2024 - İzmir / Türkiye

Mediterranean Sea Basin Programme

The Managing Authority of the Interreg NEXT Cross-Border Cooperation Programme in the Mediterranean Sea Basin is the Administration of the Autonomous Region of Sardinia. The countries expected to participate in the program in the period 2021-2027 are Algeria, Southern Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Malta, Palestine, Portugal, Spain, Tunisia.

The program area of the Programme in Türkiye consists of these cities: Tekirdağ, Edirne, Kırklareli, Balıkesir, Çanakkale, Izmir, Aydın, Denizli, Muğla, Antalya, Isparta, Burdur, Adana, Mersin, Hatay, Kahramanmaraş, Osmaniye, Manisa, Afyonkarahisar, Kütahya, Uşak  regions.

It is the first time that Türkiye has participated in the Programme and has been involved in the process since the first stage of the 2021-2027 preparation process. While the preparations for the Program Document are ongoing, it is expected that all documents will be submitted to the European Commission by December 2022.

The new era budget of the program is 253,325.779 euros. In this regard, the program is one of the EU’s highest-budget cross-border Programmes.

Policy Objectives of the Mediterranean Sea Basin Programme:

1) Policy Objective 1: A more competitive and smarter EuropeDeveloping and enhancing research and innovation capacities and the uptake of advanced technologiesEnhancing sustainable growth and competitiveness of SMEs and job creation in SMEs, including by productive investments 2) Policy Objective 2: A greener, low-carbon EuropePromoting energy efficiency and reducing greenhouse gas emissionsPromoting climate change adaptation, and disaster risk prevention, resilience, taking into account eco-system based approachesPromoting access to water and sustainable water managementPromoting the transition to a circular and resource efficient economy 3) PO 4: A more social and inclusive Europe implementing the European Pillar of Social RightsImproving equal access to inclusive and quality services in education, training and lifelong learning through developing accessible infrastructure, including by fostering resilience for distance and on-line education and trainingEnsuring equal access to health care and fostering resilience of health systems, including primary care, and promoting the transition from institutional to family- and community-based care 4) ISO 1: Interreg-specific objective of a better cooperation governanceOther actions to support better cooperation governance  

For further information about the Programme please click here